Special Feature: Matrimony, Inc.: From Personal Ads to Swiping Right, a Story of America Looking for Love by Francesca Beauman

If this title doesn’t grab you then I don’t know what will! I don’t read a ton of non fiction books but this one jumped out at me and I think it would be a fun read or even a fun gift for the upcoming holidays. This could easily be the book I give me history loving intellectual family members and friends this year!

Back in the late 1990s meeting someone online and dating them sounded so desperate and taboo but now in 2020 it’s how most people meet and fall in love. I don’t think twice when my friends talk about their Tinder matches when in the 1990s I would totally have judged them. Dating someone online was like the 1970s and 80s equivalent to taking out a personal ad. It wreaked of desperation.

That doesn’t mean that I still didn’t read those ads for a good laugh! Also I realize I am dating myself here. I was born in 1981 so the inception of internet dating is right up my ally but growing up in the 1980s I loved reading personal ads even though I didn’t quite know what was going on. I also loved dating shows like The Love Connection.

The never-ending quest for love is fascinating and that’s exactly what this book is about—-how finding love had evolved over the decades and I am absolutely here for it!

Continue reading “Special Feature: Matrimony, Inc.: From Personal Ads to Swiping Right, a Story of America Looking for Love by Francesca Beauman”

Review: Pale Morning Light with Violet Swan by Deborah Reed

The cover of this book looks so calming and elegant. The second I saw this cover it put me in the mood for some high brow literature. The only problem was that I wasn’t quite in that sam mood when I picked this one up to actually start reading.

When I first read the description for this one, it was back in early spring and was due to be released in the early summer but then it got pushed back to the fall and while I might have been ready for some heavy reading in the spring/summer, I was not in the mood for that in the fall.

But I picked it up anyway because that cover is truly stunning and I love the artistic feel of it and I thought it might be a nice change of pace from all the murder and horror I have been reading lately.

Continue reading “Review: Pale Morning Light with Violet Swan by Deborah Reed”

Review: Daughter of Black Lake by Cathy Marie Buchanan

When this book first came up for review, I simply couldn’t pass it up. I have had The Painted Girls on my TBR since it came out in 2013 so when I saw that this book was by the same author, I knew it was a no brainer….I simply had to read this book!

I love historical fiction and it’s always so hard for me to pass on a historical fiction book because I always enjoy them so much. But sometimes with any genre, it can start to feel stale. Over the years, I have started taking systematic breaks from historical fiction in favor of thrillers or horror just to change things up.

But I always end up back at the genre that I love which is what happened with this one. I knew that it was set more in the ancient Roman world rather than the traditional Tudor, Victorian, or WWII eras that are so popular in historical fiction. That immediately set it apart and I couldn’t wait to check it out!

Continue reading “Review: Daughter of Black Lake by Cathy Marie Buchanan”

Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan

If you are a thriller fan, then you will no doubt have this book on your radar. I have seen a lot of positive feedback from early reviewers and I am excited to share a bit about this book with you all today.

I haven’t read anything by Gilly Macmillan before but this book might persuade me to pick up not only this one but a few of her other books as well (The Nanny I am looking at you!).

This book sounds like it would appeal to fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena so be sure to get this one on your TBR list and get all the info about this one right here on the blog today! Continue reading “Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan”

Review: A Dangerous Duet (Victorian Mystery #1) by Karen Odden

Karen Odden is an author I have had on my radar for a while but I just never seem to pick up any of her books.

Well that changed when I was asked to read the second book in the Victorian Mystery series. I thought I had better read the first book in the series before jumping into the second book, so I ordered this one and dove right in!

As many of you know, I never met a historical mystery that I didn’t like—ok well maybe there were a couple, but by and large, I love historical mysteries and I love discovering new heroines and heroes to admire. Continue reading “Review: A Dangerous Duet (Victorian Mystery #1) by Karen Odden”