Review: Fire & Blood (A Targaryen History #1) by George R.R. Martin

I have had this book pre ordered for months. I cleared my entire month of December to keep it open so I could read this behemoth.

If truth be told, I am not a huge Targaryen fan. I personally prefer the Starks but I was interested in some of the tantalizing questions this book promised to answer.

This book promises to answer what The Doom really was and the source of Daenerys’s dragon eggs.

Spoiler alert, I still don’t feel like I have answers to those questions but I did learn a lot about Westeros and the Targaryen empire. Continue reading “Review: Fire & Blood (A Targaryen History #1) by George R.R. Martin”

Advertisements

Review: Love Poems for Married People by John Kenney

Poetry isn’t really my genre. Something about it always makes me feel so inadequate and most of it just seems to go over my head. I do have a few poems (and when I say a few I mean like 4) that I like but by and large, poetry just isn’t for me.

This book showed up for review about three weeks ago and the minute I tore it open, I was literally laughing so hard. The poems in this book are perfect for married couples. If you have been married—even for a couple of months—this book will resonate with you.

I have been married for fifteen years and we just had our first child two years ago—-and this book of poetry literally spoke to me in a way that no other ‘mommy and marriage’ article on the web could possible come close to.  Continue reading “Review: Love Poems for Married People by John Kenney”

Special Feature: THE SECRET LIFE OF MRS. LONDON

In 2018, I reviewed THE SECRET LIFE OF MRS LONDON and was so impressed by the writing and content. I didn’t really know anything about Jack London besides the fact that he wrote THE CALL OF THE WILD and WHITE FANG.

I knew even less about Houdini. I was intrigued by how this book was actually going to come together because a literary giant and a magician in the midst of a love triangle seems totally weird and random but sometimes truth is stranger than fiction and even though this book was a novelization and historical fiction, there was plenty of historical facts to keep historians interested.

Today is Jack London’s birthday and on this special day and to celebrate, the author of THE SECRET LIFE OF MRS LONDON, Rebecca Rosenberg, wrote a wonderful excerpt about the dynamics of this love triangle.  Continue reading “Special Feature: THE SECRET LIFE OF MRS. LONDON”

Giveaway: Gold Digger, The Remarkable Baby Doe Tabor by Rebecca Rosenberg

If you are a fan of interesting but yet often glossed over women in American history? I know I am, but author Rebecca Rosenberg is on a mission to give those women a story and her latest novel, GOLD DIGGER: THE REMARKABLE BABY DOE TABOR promises to be an informative and wonderful story about a woman destine for fame.

Actual photo of Baby Doe

One look at Baby Doe and you know she was meant to be a legend! She was just twenty years old when she came to Colorado to work a gold mine with her new husband. Little did she expect that she’d be abandoned and pregnant and left to manage the gold mine alone. But that didn’t stop her!

She moved to Leadville and fell in love with a married prospector, twice her age. Horace Tabor struck the biggest silver vein in history, divorced his wife and married Baby Doe. Though his new wife was known for her beauty, her fashion, and even her philanthropy, she was never welcomed in polite society.

Discover how the Tabors navigated the worlds of wealth, power, politics, and scandal in the wild days of western mining (summary from Goodreads).

I am thrilled to be able to offer one DIGITAL ARC of this book for a lucky reader!

Giveaway runs 1/10/19-1/18/19

A winner will be announced 1/19/19

(how to enter)

On this blog you must leave a comment to be entered in the giveaway.  Your comment MUST include your email so I can contact you….if you do not enter an email in the comments your entry will be void. Winners will be notified by email the day after the giveaway closes and have five days to respond, it not another winner will be chosen. 

(GIVEAWAY OPEN TO US ONLY AND IS FOR A DIGITAL ARC)

Make sure you note if you have done the following for more chances to win: Tweet about the giveaway (+1), share on Facebook (+1), like The Lit Bitch on Facebook (+1), follow The Lit Bitch on Twitter (+1), subscribe to The Lit Bitch’s blog (+1), follow The Lit Bitch on Instagram (+1). Tweet/RT about the giveaway (+1). Share about the giveaway (+1).

Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous

This book came across my desk in the early fall for review and I was intrigued because it claims to be for fans of Kate Morton and VC Andrews….specifically stating that this is the book that would be born if Morton and Andrews had a book baby.

Now I have not read VC Andrews but I absolutely love Kate Morton so I was eager to see how this book stacked up to this high praise.

I love books about old buried family secrets and this book promised that and so much more, so I agreed to put this book on my reading radar for the winter. Continue reading “Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous”