Review: Pale Morning Light with Violet Swan by Deborah Reed

The cover of this book looks so calming and elegant. The second I saw this cover it put me in the mood for some high brow literature. The only problem was that I wasn’t quite in that sam mood when I picked this one up to actually start reading.

When I first read the description for this one, it was back in early spring and was due to be released in the early summer but then it got pushed back to the fall and while I might have been ready for some heavy reading in the spring/summer, I was not in the mood for that in the fall.

But I picked it up anyway because that cover is truly stunning and I love the artistic feel of it and I thought it might be a nice change of pace from all the murder and horror I have been reading lately.

Continue reading “Review: Pale Morning Light with Violet Swan by Deborah Reed”

Review: Daughter of Black Lake by Cathy Marie Buchanan

When this book first came up for review, I simply couldn’t pass it up. I have had The Painted Girls on my TBR since it came out in 2013 so when I saw that this book was by the same author, I knew it was a no brainer….I simply had to read this book!

I love historical fiction and it’s always so hard for me to pass on a historical fiction book because I always enjoy them so much. But sometimes with any genre, it can start to feel stale. Over the years, I have started taking systematic breaks from historical fiction in favor of thrillers or horror just to change things up.

But I always end up back at the genre that I love which is what happened with this one. I knew that it was set more in the ancient Roman world rather than the traditional Tudor, Victorian, or WWII eras that are so popular in historical fiction. That immediately set it apart and I couldn’t wait to check it out!

Continue reading “Review: Daughter of Black Lake by Cathy Marie Buchanan”

Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan

If you are a thriller fan, then you will no doubt have this book on your radar. I have seen a lot of positive feedback from early reviewers and I am excited to share a bit about this book with you all today.

I haven’t read anything by Gilly Macmillan before but this book might persuade me to pick up not only this one but a few of her other books as well (The Nanny I am looking at you!).

This book sounds like it would appeal to fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena so be sure to get this one on your TBR list and get all the info about this one right here on the blog today! Continue reading “Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan”

Review: A Dangerous Duet (Victorian Mystery #1) by Karen Odden

Karen Odden is an author I have had on my radar for a while but I just never seem to pick up any of her books.

Well that changed when I was asked to read the second book in the Victorian Mystery series. I thought I had better read the first book in the series before jumping into the second book, so I ordered this one and dove right in!

As many of you know, I never met a historical mystery that I didn’t like—ok well maybe there were a couple, but by and large, I love historical mysteries and I love discovering new heroines and heroes to admire. Continue reading “Review: A Dangerous Duet (Victorian Mystery #1) by Karen Odden”

Special Feature: Louisiana Lucky by Julie Pennell

Have you ever fantasized about what it would be like to win the lottery? Let’s be real, we all have thought about it at one point or another especially when we see those huge Powerball numbers. Honestly what would someone do wit 500 million dollars? It’s a number the boggles the mind.

Well this book explores just that thought. Three sisters win the lottery and each sister uses those winnings in different ways and making what they think are all their dreams come true.

I love that this book sounds like it’s also going to explore the dark side of winning the lottery. It’s easy to imagine what life would be like winning the lottery but the reality I am sure is far from idillic. More money more problems or so the saying goes. Today I have this book up for special feature and I can’t wait to read it and I hope you will enjoy it as well! Continue reading “Special Feature: Louisiana Lucky by Julie Pennell”