Review: The Collector of Dying Breaths (Reincarnationist #6) by M.J. Rose

Jac L’Etoile is still struggling to come to terms with her gift of reincarnation and channeling the past lives of those around her.

She still doesn’t believe in her abilities and isn’t quite comfortable using them, though those around her encourage her to do so.

She is called to France by her brother, Robbie, who is a well known perfumer and of late has been dabbling in the occult aspect of his profession.

Robbie is dying and he wants to share his latest project with Jac–how to collect dying breaths to reanimate the spirit. He has been working with an eccentric and wealthy couple trying to unlock the key to the dying breaths theory when he suddenly falls ill.

Jac steps in to take his place when she begins to question the ethical values of the couple. However, curiosity wins out and Jac continues to work on the project at the ancient French chateau of Rene le Florentine–royal perfumer of Catherine de Medici.

In 1533, Catherine de Medici is betrothed to a royal in France. The Italian court is her home, before she leaves for France, Catherine decides to take her trusted perfumer–and suspected murderer–Rene le Florentine with her.

She has called on Rene in the past to not only create perfume for her, but to also mix potions and spells to suit her darker purposes. They travel to France where the court is even darker and more deadly than Italy.

I have been a fan of M.J. Rose since I read Seduction last year, so naturally I wanted to review this one when it came out! While I thought Seduction was wonderful, I enjoyed this one ten times more!

What I loved most about this novel was that it had a lot more romance in it. Not just for Jac but for Rene as well. Their love stories were intertwined throughout the novel which made the romance of the novel more powerful and sensual for me. The love story is what won me over in this installment.

As in the previous novel, I still can’t quite warm up to Jac’s overall character. There is some connection that I am missing with her and I don’t quite know what it is.

Perhaps because she is so stubborn when it comes to accepting her reincarnation abilities…..not sure but there is something about her that I can’t quite identify with which is the only reason that I gave this book 4.5 stars instead of 5.

On the other hand I felt an immediate connection with Rene. His story was so well done and compelling. I was fascinated by the perfume industry of the Middle Ages as well as the occultist aspects of the dying breaths theory. I was captivated by his entire story and character, LOVED it!

As with the previous novel, I really enjoyed the concept of reincarnation mixed with the Jungian psychology theories. It’s a great combo that makes for a very unique and thrilling series.

I don’t know that I would consider this a suspense novel, there were elements of suspense but I guess for me there was more romance and history than suspense but I guess romantic suspense would work.

The perfume industry is so fascinating to me after reading this series now. To explore the history of perfume and scent through the ages and then to add in the use of scent as a kind of catalyst for past life regression is a wonderfully different combination in literature and I absolutely love how Rose uses it to her advantage in this series!

As a side note, I totally wish I could smell all the scents in this novel! I want to know what all the different mixtures smell like. I wish we had a little scratch and sniff sticker somewhere in the novel after each and ever scent talked about!

If you are looking for something new and refreshing to read in the historical fiction genre, I would highly recommend this series. It explores so many different periods in history and many different historic figures so you won’t be bored at all!

One final thought, can I just call attention to the sensual book cover? it’s beautiful and stunning and immediately made me want to read the story inside! The red made me think of love and passion…it was PERFECT for this novel!

I reviewed this book as part of The Collector of Dying Breaths Virtual Book Tour hosted by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours. Be sure to check out a guest post by M.J. Rose herself and be sure to visit the other blog stops on the tour for interviews and giveaways!

Challenge/Book Summary:

Book: The Collector of Dying Breaths (Reincarnationist #6) by M.J. Rose

  • Hardcover, 384 pages
  • Published January 21st 2014 by Thomas Dunne Books
  • ISBN 1250006295 (ISBN13: 9781250006295)
  • Review copy provided by: Publisher as part of the HFVBT book tour in exchange for an honest review

This book counts toward: NA

  • Hosted by: NA
  • Books for Challenge Completed: NA

Recommendation: 4.5 out of 5

Genre: Historic fiction, suspense

Memorable lines/quotes: NA

Virtual Book Tour Schedule

Monday, March 3
Review at Peeking Between the Pages

Tuesday, March 4
Review at The Novel Life

Wednesday, March 5
Review at Bitches with Books
Review at WTF Are You Reading?

Thursday, March 6
Review at Flashlight Commentary

Friday, March 7
Interview at Flashlight Commentary

Monday, March 10
Review at Diary of an Eccentric

Tuesday, March 11
Review at Book-alicious Mama

Wednesday, March 12
Review at The Wormhole
Review at Kinx’s Book Nook

Thursday, March 13
Review at Luxury Reading

Friday, March 14
Review at Book Drunkard

Monday, March 17
Review at Closed the Cover
Review at Oh, for the Hook of a Book

Tuesday, March 18
Review at The Lit Bitch
Interview at Closed the Cover

Wednesday, March 19
Review at Princess of Eboli

Friday, March 21
Review at She is Too Fond of Books
Review at Historical Tapestry & The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader

Monday, March 24
Review at To Read or Not to Read
Interview at Mina’s Bookshself

Tuesday, March 25
Interview at Jorie Loves a Story

Wednesday, March 26
Review at Ageless Pages Reviews

Thursday, March 27
Review at A Bookish Libraria

Friday, March 28
Review at Historical Fiction Obsession

Monday, March 31
Review at Mom with a Book

Tuesday, April 1
Review at Peppermint, Ph.D.

Wednesday, April 2
Review at Reviews by Molly
Review at Confessions of an Avid Reader

Thursday, April 3
Review at Mari Reads

Friday, April 4
Spotlight at Reading the Ages

Monday, April 7
Review at A Chick Who Reads
Review at From Left to Write

Tuesday, April 8
Review at Mina’s Bookshelf
Review at Lit Addicted Brit

Wednesday, April 9
Review at West Metro Mommy

Thursday, April 10
Review & Interview at Cynthia Robertson Blog

Friday, April 11
Review at She Reads Novels

Monday, April 14
Review at CelticLady’s Reviews

Tuesday, April 15
Review at Bibliophilic Book Blog

Wednesday, April 16
Review at A Novel Review
Review at The Musings of a Book Junkie

Thursday, April 17
Review & Interview at Cozy Up with a Good Read

Friday, April 18
Review at So Many Books, So Little Time

Monday, April 21
Review at A Book Geek

Tuesday, April 22
Review at Blogging the Beloved

Wednesday, April 23
Review at A Dream Within a Dream
Interview at Blogging the Beloved

Thursday, April 24
Review at Pure Textuality

Friday, April 25
Review at The Musings of ALMYBNENR

Monday, April 28
Review at Book Dilettante

Tuesday, April 29
Review at Our Wolves Den

Wednesday, April 30
Review at From L.A. to LA

Thursday, May 1
Review at Bibliophilia, Please

Friday, May 2
Review at A Writer’s Life

Tuesday, May 6
Review at The True Book Addict

Wednesday, May 7
Review at Booklover Book Reviews

Thursday, May 8
Review at Psychotic State Book Reviews

Friday, May 9
Review at Blood Mother

Monday, May 12
Review at Broken Teepee

Tuesday, May 13
Review at Savvy Verse & Wit

Wednesday, May 14
Review at Buried Under Books

Thursday, May 15
Review at bookramblings

Friday, May 16
Review at Svetlana’s Reads and Views

Monday, May 19
Review at The Mad Reviewer

Tuesday, May 20
Review at Griperang’s Bookmarks
Review at Jorie Loves a Story

Thursday, May 22
Review at Seaside Book Corner

Friday, May 23
Review at Tower of Babel

Monday, May 26
Review at Cheryl’s Book Nook

Tuesday, May 27
Review at Just One More Chapter

Wednesday, May 28
Review at Book Nerd

Thursday, May 29
Review at Kincavel Korner
Review at Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell

Friday, May 30
Interview at Kincavel Korner

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Guest Post: The Collector of Dying Breaths (Reincarnationist #6) by M.J. Rose | The Lit Bitch

Charming comments go here!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: