Review: Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgertons #4) by Julia Quinn

Something about the Bridgerton books is compelling me to binge read them all. When I read The Duke and I last spring, I had no idea that I was going to eventually binge all of the books once the show came out. Obviously I love the show and I couldn’t wait to get more of the Bridgerton’s and to be honest, Colin and Penelope’s romance was one I was eagerly anticipating!

So far The Viscount Who Loved Me is my absolute favorite in the series, as I am a huge fan of enemies to lovers and that book was hands down my fav troupe! But I also wouldn’t pass up a friends to lovers troupe either and Colin and Penelope have been favorite fringe characters for me in the previous books so I couldn’t wait to watch them fall in love.

Especially in the third book, Quinn set up their romance perfectly when Colin insults Penelope in the third book, I was like dear god hurry up and get done so I can start on Colin and Penelope’s story already! These books don’t need to be read in order but I personally prefer them in order as there are little Easter eggs and set ups in each book for the next one.

Continue reading “Review: Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgertons #4) by Julia Quinn”

Special Feature: The Canterbury Murders (Stanton & Barling #3) by E.M. Powell

Publication Date: November 12, 2020
Crosshaven Press

Series: Stanton & Barling, #3
Genre: Historical Fiction/Mystery

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

Available on Amazon

Continue reading “Special Feature: The Canterbury Murders (Stanton & Barling #3) by E.M. Powell”

Review: Meet Me in Bombay by Jenny Ashcroft

I absolutely love seeing more and more exotic locations in the historical fiction genre. Most historical fiction novels are set places like England or America with the occasional France thrown in for fun-sies. But there are many compelling stories coming out of exotic locations recently and I am so excited to read those stories. One of my new favorite settings in historical fiction is Bombay.

In the fall I read Murder in Old Bombay and it felt like such an exotic treat for me and when I saw this one was coming out I jumped on it, mostly for the location, but also because I never met a WWI romance that I didn’t love. While not exclusively a romance, this book has a strong romantic storyline and I couldn’t wait to read something new feeling.

I know that some readers did not enjoy the setting of this book and some felt that the setting was just another glorification of white colonization of the Indian people. But for me, it was a novel with great stories and a new setting that wasn’t just another novel set in England. Though the setting drew me in, it was the characters and the plot won me over.

Continue reading “Review: Meet Me in Bombay by Jenny Ashcroft”

Review: An Offer From a Gentleman (Bridgertons #3) by Julia Quinn

After binge watching the Netflix series, Bridgerton, I renewed my promise to read all the Bridgerton books immediately! I read The Duke and I when word of the show started circulating. I didn’t love The Duke and I but I liked it enough to consider reading the other books in the series, but I wanted to wait and see how the show was before I went back to reading the Bridgerton books.

Well I swooned for the series and quickly nabbed a copy of The Viscount Who Loved me (Anthony’s story) which was incredible. Anthony Bridgerton will probably reign for a while as as favorite romantic hero of mine. Before I was even done with the second book though, I had downloaded all the rest of the Bridgerton novels and vowed to read them in rapid sucession.

And read them I did! This book is Benedict’s story and while the show depicted him as sexually ambiguous at this point, in the book he is very much a heterosexual man, though probably the least memorable of the Bridgerton clan. But I was looking forward to his story all the same because I love a Cinderella romance too!

Continue reading “Review: An Offer From a Gentleman (Bridgertons #3) by Julia Quinn”

Review: Beauty Among Ruins by J’nell Ciesielski

Last year I read one of J’nell Ciesielski’s novels and fell in love. She writes such wonderful historical fiction and when I saw this book was coming out, I cracked it open the second it arrived.

The cover is absolutely stunning and I thought this one sounded so good. I love WWI romances and Downton Abbey and that’s basically what this book sounded like…..a nice little war romance for fans of Downton Abbey!

As soon as I started it I couldn’t put it down! It was such a great read and for the most part read fairly quick. I loved the characters and of course the romance! I also have to admit that even though this book wasn’t out until now (2021) I read it in 2020 and it definitely made my top 10 list of 2020! Such a great book!

Continue reading “Review: Beauty Among Ruins by J’nell Ciesielski”