Review: The Suspect (Kate Waters #3) by Fiona Barton

Author, Fiona Barton, seems to have a rather large cult following on social media. Her books (especially this new one) have been all over my Instagram page and I have to admit, I was intrigued by the prospect of being able to fan girl a new-to-me author.

As I have said before, I am new to the thriller genre and often become intimidated by starting new series mid way through, however in recent years I have had fairly good luck with starting mid series.

I had seen that this book can be read as a stand alone, even though it is part of the Kate Waters seriesContinue reading “Review: The Suspect (Kate Waters #3) by Fiona Barton”

Advertisements

Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous

This book came across my desk in the early fall for review and I was intrigued because it claims to be for fans of Kate Morton and VC Andrews….specifically stating that this is the book that would be born if Morton and Andrews had a book baby.

Now I have not read VC Andrews but I absolutely love Kate Morton so I was eager to see how this book stacked up to this high praise.

I love books about old buried family secrets and this book promised that and so much more, so I agreed to put this book on my reading radar for the winter. Continue reading “Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous”

Review: Among the Red Stars by Gwen C. Katz

For some reason, this year I have heard about a couple of books that came out or are coming out, about the Night Witches of WWII. I hadn’t read any of the books but I was interested in the subject matter and historical take on these brave women.

I wanted to pick up one of the, what I like to call, Night Witches books but I just didn’t think of it when I was at the bookstore or my library. Then one day in late November I got an email pitching this book featuring the Night Witches that was more of a YA book and I practically pounced on the request!

From a historical stand point, I think anything about the Russian Night Witches, is incredibly important and interesting, but my reading year was coming to a close and I didn’t really want to read anything overly taxing and long, so when I saw that this book was geared toward a more YA audience, I was eager to review it.

World War II has erupted in Valka’s homeland of Russia, and Valka is determined to help the effort. She’s a pilot—and a good one—so she eagerly joins an all-female bomber regiment.  Continue reading “Review: Among the Red Stars by Gwen C. Katz”

Review: Hall of Mirrors (Bryant & May #15) by Christopher Fowler

I happened to pick up the first book in the Bryant and May series a couple of years ago at my local used book shop. The first thing that caught my eye was the interesting and quirky cover.

In a sea of mystery novels the early Bryant and May covers really caught my eye. I would probably have never picked up the books had I not seen these lovely covers.

When I read the first book, the one thing that stood out head and shoulders above the rest was the dead pan banter between the two detectives—they had so much chemistry and it made the story fun to read and the shifting between the younger Bryant and May characters and the now older Bryant and May.

As soon as I was done I went out and bought the next four books in the series because not only did I love the covers but I loved the two detectives. But sadly that’s where things ended for me. I got caught up in other books and other series and just didn’t make my way back to this one for some reason.  Continue reading “Review: Hall of Mirrors (Bryant & May #15) by Christopher Fowler”

Review: Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield

I had one experience with Diane Setterfield’s novels and that was Bellman & Black way back in 2013. I wasn’t terribly impressed with the book and I was so sad because I wanted to love it so very badly. I mean it sounded right up my alley and I was reading it as my ‘scary read’ for October so I was even more disappointed in it.

At the time I wanted to read her other novel, The Thirteenth Tale, but I was just so let down that I didn’t want to risk being disappointed again. So flash forward five years…..since reading this Bellman & Black,  I have thought of her other book off and on but just haven’t gotten around to reading it.

Then I was approached to read Once Upon a River and I was actually super excited. By all accounts and descriptions, all of her books should be something that I would love. I was eager to try out another one of her books, especially because I had already heard quite the buzz happening around this book which made me excited. And let’s just say the only regret I have with this book is that I didn’t start it sooner! Continue reading “Review: Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield”