Special Feature: House of Correction by Nicci French

I have really enjoyed the Frida Klein books by Nicci French and some of French’s standalone mysteries are wonderful reads too. This latest novel is a standalone mystery that promises dark twists.

This one sounds so intriguing with a woman arrested for murder but yet she cannot recall anything about the murder or the night in question but yet she is arrested and must prove her innocents.

I think this one sounds so compelling and interesting and with the writing skills that French is known for, I think this one is going to be excellent. I couldn’t fit it into my review calendar for this month but I am super excited to bring you all the details today!

Continue reading “Special Feature: House of Correction by Nicci French”

Review: In Case of Emergency by E. G. Scott

This book had so much potential for me. I loved the premise and I was excited to read it. It sounded like it was going to be quite the nail bitter and I think the cover has a lot of visual interest to grab readers right away.

I love books like this where the main character is a suspect in the murder of a complete stranger. For some reason that troupe always draws me in because that has got to be someone’s worst nightmare.

I mean, I don’t know what I would do if I was being treated as a person of interest in a murder of a person I had never met before. So right away this one sounded so amazing to me and I couldn’t wait to crack it open.

Continue reading “Review: In Case of Emergency by E. G. Scott”

Review: Invisible Girl by Lisa Jewell

I have only read one book by Lisa Jewell but I loved it and I was so excited to receive and ARC of her latest novel to read this fall!

I really enjoyed The Family Upstairs but this one sounded a little darker and more intense than The Family Upstairs, but I was really looking forward to it and was eager to sit down on a dark and stormy lazy weekend to devour this one.

One thing that I felt after reading Jewell’s The Family Upstairs was that she has a great way of adding substance and depth to all of her characters which is not always the case in the thriller genre. So when I picked this one up, that’s what I was expecting, in depth characters in a fast paced novel.

Continue reading “Review: Invisible Girl by Lisa Jewell”

Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan

If you are a thriller fan, then you will no doubt have this book on your radar. I have seen a lot of positive feedback from early reviewers and I am excited to share a bit about this book with you all today.

I haven’t read anything by Gilly Macmillan before but this book might persuade me to pick up not only this one but a few of her other books as well (The Nanny I am looking at you!).

This book sounds like it would appeal to fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena so be sure to get this one on your TBR list and get all the info about this one right here on the blog today! Continue reading “Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan”

Special Feature: Don’t Look for Me by Wendy Walker

This lated book by Wendy Walker has been on my radar for months. I received a copy in late spring and have been drooling over the stunning cover for months.

I held off on reading it right away though because I know that my book club will probably be looking to this book in October to read. It sounds so so so good and I am thrilled to be sharing it with you guys today!

If you love thrillers then you will likely have heard about this book thanks to the big hype. I sure hope it lives up to expectations but to be honest, I am fairly sure it will as many early reviewers have been raving about this one! I have a feeling this is going to be a huge hit for this author! Continue reading “Special Feature: Don’t Look for Me by Wendy Walker”