Special Feature and Giveaway: Paperback Release for The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr

The Lost History of Dreams
by Kris Waldherr

Paperback Publication Date: February 18, 2020
Atria Books
Hardcover & eBook; 336 Pages

Genre: Historical/Gothic/Mystery

 

 

The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr is now out in paperback! In it, a post-mortem photographer unearths the dark secrets of a famed poet’s marriage in this “sensual, twisting gothic tale…in the tradition of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, and Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights” (BookPage). Blurring the line between the past and the present, truth and fiction, and ultimately, life and death, The Lost History of Dreams is “a surrealist, haunting tale of suspense where every prediction turns out to be merely a step toward a bigger reveal” (Booklist).

When famed Byronesque poet Hugh de Bonne is found dead in his bath one morning in 1850, final arrangements are left to his estranged cousin, historian turned postmortem photographer Robert Highstead. De Bonne’s will instructs that he should be buried in a stained glass chapel set on the Shropshire moors, built to house the remains of his beloved wife and muse, Ada. It has since been locked to all outsiders—especially the cultlike fans of de Bonne’s final book, The Lost History of Dreams. Only Ada’s grief-stricken niece, Isabelle, holds the key, but she refuses to open the chapel unless Robert agrees to her bargain: Before he can lay Hugh to rest, Robert must record the real story behind her aunt’s ill-fated marriage to the poet over the course of five nights—a story that is both love story and ghost story.

Learn more here. Continue reading “Special Feature and Giveaway: Paperback Release for The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr”

Review: Adequate Yearly Progress by Roxanna Elden

I worked in public education for twelve years and during that time I had a close friend who was a counselor in our Guidance Office. We would have lunch together every day and talk about how we needed to write a book about public education because people would never believe the things we have to go through on a daily basis.

In fact we stated keeping a list of things that would happen in our office each year and at the end of the school year we would go back and reflect on the year of weird things we had to deal with. The list was long every single year and the incidents increasingly humorous and at the same time sad.

When I saw this book was coming out and was written by a former educator, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it! Continue reading “Review: Adequate Yearly Progress by Roxanna Elden”

Take Two Review: Why Kill the Innocent (Sebastian St. Cyr #13) by C.S. Harris

When I first read this book, it was only the third book I had read in this series. I read book 1 and then book 12 before reading this one and that was it. I went into this one feeling a little lost in the series in regards to the principle characters, but tried to keep my focus on the mystery itself.

Then back in Dec, I decided to bit the bullet as it were and read the entire series again from beginning to end as it was intended and what I have discovered is this series is positively unputdownable!

While I might not love every book in the series, I have found that I now can fully appreciate the detailed nuances of the character connections, changes, and relationships much better than when I picked this one up originally! Continue reading “Take Two Review: Why Kill the Innocent (Sebastian St. Cyr #13) by C.S. Harris”

Review: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia #2) by C.S. Lewis (Audible Edition)

Even though I was a big reader as a child, this book just never made it on my to be read list. I wasn’t into fantasy as a kid and thus this book never appealed to me. I was way more into the American Girl books than Narnia and I even went to a Catholic school…..the Narnia books are practically required reading at Catholic schools!

But for whatever reason, I just by passed this entire series until now. As an adult I have absolutely fallen in love with fantasy and magical novels and now that I have a little boy, I can’t wait to share the Narnia books with him so I decided that I needed to give them a go before he was old enough to read them on his own (he is 3 so we have a while)

I know that I started the series a little out of order with this one technically being the second book in the series, but it was the one I was most familiar with so I decided to start there. Continue reading “Review: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia #2) by C.S. Lewis (Audible Edition)”

Take Two Review: Where the Dead Lie (Sebastian St. Cyr #12) by C.S. Harris

I was first approached to read this series in 2017. At that time I hadn’t heard of Sebastian St Cyr and was hesitant to read the twelfth book in the series, so I read the first book with the intention of reading the series before this one, but sadly that was overly ambitious and I only had time for book 1 and then moved right into this one.

At that time I enjoyed the mystery and didn’t feel lost in the mystery itself, but definitely felt lost with some of the other plot points threaded through out the series. As a result, I felt that it was a worthy while read but I missed the nuances of the narrative and didn’t focus on the mystery as much because I was trying to figure out what had changed since the first book.

Now that I am re-reading the entire series from beginning to end, I am finally back to where it all began, with the twelfth book and I was eager to see if I enjoyed it more or less this time around. Continue reading “Take Two Review: Where the Dead Lie (Sebastian St. Cyr #12) by C.S. Harris”