Special Feature and Excerpt: The Turncoat by T.J. London

The Turncoat by T.J. London

Publication Date: May 23, 2019
eBook & Paperback

Series: The Rebels and Redcoats Saga, Book 3
Genre: Historical Fiction

Spy. Redcoat. Traitor.

 

 

After Captain John Carlisle’s dance with death, he’s retreated to the serenity of the Oneida village with his beloved Dellis McKesson, trying to hide from the inevitable truth: war is coming. But when duty calls, and John’s expertise is needed to negotiate a treaty between the Six Nations of the Iroquois and the Crown, he’ll once again be faced with a decision: his King or his conscience.

Many truths that have yet to be revealed, and a deal with the Devil made in desperation, threatens to ruin Dellis and John’s hard-won love. As ghosts of the past resurface, and bitter family rivalry exposes betrayal from those closest to her, Dellis is dragged down a devastating path to the truth of her parents’ murders.

Now, the die is cast as war comes to the Mohawk River Valley in the Summer of 1777. St. Leger and his native allies siege Fort Stanwix. They’re also plotting a secret attack that will force the Rebels and the Oneida to face off against the Crown and their allies, further dividing John’s loyalties, leaving him on the precipice of another decision: Rebel or Redcoat?

Excerpt

Continue reading “Special Feature and Excerpt: The Turncoat by T.J. London”

Advertisements

Special Feature and Interview: THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB by Craig Davidson

I think I am part of the 1% of the population that hasn’t watched Stranger Things. It’s on my list to watch but lately I’ve been reading so much and mourning the ending of Game of Thrones, that I have struggled to find something new to watch. But Stranger Things could easily be that show!

When I saw that this book was for fans of Stranger Things, I couldn’t help but be interested, because I know so many people adore that show, but then the publisher went the extra mile and likened this book to a cross between Stand By Me and Stranger Things. How could I say no?!

I loved Stand By Me and if there is a book that involves ghosts, then I am all ears! I am going to have this book up for review later this summer but until then, you guys need to have this book on your radar! I thumbed through my copy and couldn’t be more excited to start reading it! And the best part is, it’s our tomorrow! So read the rest of this post for a Q & A with the author and then order a copy because it sounds like it’s going to be the hot summer ticket! Continue reading “Special Feature and Interview: THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB by Craig Davidson”

Product Review: Plum Deluxe Teas

Photo credit: Plum Deluxe website

There is nothing like the marriage of tea and books in my opinion! I almost always have a cup of tea on hand when reading. It’s so relaxing and soothing.

I gave up drinking coffee a little over a year ago and though I have been known to sneak a cup or two here and there, tea has all but replaced coffee for me. I found a couple of teas that I was pretty excited about, but I am always looking for new tea to try and as I was scraping the bottom of my latest tin, I was approached by Plum Deluxe Teas to see if I would like to give their teas a shot.

Without hesitation absolutely! The first thing that stood out to me was their mission and the fact that they are a local tea company for me. I live in Salem Oregon which is an hour south of their location in Portland. I love small local businesses because I always feel like there is such care and affection for their products that larger manufacturers have lost. Continue reading “Product Review: Plum Deluxe Teas”

Review: Rouge: A Novel of Beauty and Rivalry by Richard Kirshenbaum

As a young girl growing up in the late 80’s, early 90’s at the height of the ‘glamour’ industry (well at least for me!), there was no way I could pass on this book.

I was exceptionally interested in cosmetics and the ‘glamor’ industry starting in my early teens, a passion the carried on into my early 20’s. In my youth, there was nothing like seeing who the new ‘Cover Girl’ was going to be, or what new makeup promised to revolutionize my beauty routine.

I was the girl who wore every single cosmetic from age 13. I had horrible acne as a elementary child and because I went to a Catholic school, I wasn’t allowed to wear makeup which was horrible for a girl with terrible skin. But once I transitioned into a public junior high school, all bets were off and thus came my obsession with cosmetics and beauty.

So what I am trying to say is this book appealed to me on a deeply personal level and I was thrilled to read about the cosmetics industry, especially since a man was writing the book. Continue reading “Review: Rouge: A Novel of Beauty and Rivalry by Richard Kirshenbaum”

Take Two Review: The Moon Sister (The Seven Sisters #5) by Lucinda Riley (Audible Edition)

I read this book only a few months ago, March to be exact. So why would I want to read it again so soon you ask? Well, I wanted to experience the Seven Sisters series again but in a whole new way.

I started re-reading the series back in April but this time, I started listening to all the books instead which proved to be quite a different experience all together. And now that all the sister stories are fresh in my mind, I was curious to see how this book held up on a second read through.

When I first got this book for review,  I was excited to read another sisters book and in all honesty I felt like I rushed through it the first time trying to take it all in as I was excited to return to such an interesting and satisfying series.

So the big question is did I like this book just as much as I did the first time around? The first time around it was a 5 star review for me easily! Continue reading “Take Two Review: The Moon Sister (The Seven Sisters #5) by Lucinda Riley (Audible Edition)”