Review: The Shining by Stephen King

Every year my sister and I pick a scary book for October and do a buddy read. Last year we did Frankenstein and we both hated it so much that we both DNF!

This year we vowed to pick something better. We tossed around a few options but ultimately settled on this classic horror novel by the king of horror Stephen King himself.

Neither of us have read King before so we thought this one would be a good starting point. Wait—I take that back. I started reading The Gunslinger and I had no idea what was going on so I stopped reading it so I don’t count that as a ‘read’ King book. Anyway, The Shining is such a classic film and book (we haven’t seen the film yet either!) in pop culture and we both agreed that starting with this one would be a good option. Continue reading “Review: The Shining by Stephen King”

Review: The Doll Factory by Elizabeth Macneal

To say that I was exited to get this book in the mail is an absolute understatement. I actually squealed in excitement when I opened this book up!

The cover is magical and haunting and the summary sounded like something I was absolutely going to sink my teeth into immediately! Victorian England, creepy stalkers, and all sorts of disturbing gothic devices were promised in the summary.

I could hardly contain my excitement. I was ecstatic to read this one and cracked it open almost immediately and what awaited me in the pages was a dark and disturbing story in addition to creepy dolls. Continue reading “Review: The Doll Factory by Elizabeth Macneal”

Review: The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

This was a book that I almost passed on for my review calendar. I was eager to do a feature and giveaway for it because I know that a lot of my readers are into the show Stranger Things  and this book was recommended for fans of the show.

But I wasn’t sure that this was going to be a book that I could fit into my summer reading. When the book arrived on my desk for review I looked at it and it was pretty short with fairly direct writing style and I thought about it a little bit but then casually set it aside.

The days went on and I kept looking at it on my shelf and couldn’t stop thinking that this might be a quick read and that it was simply calling my name. Finally I relented and picked it up and was hooked from the first chapter. Continue reading “Review: The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson”

Special Feature and Interview: THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB by Craig Davidson

I think I am part of the 1% of the population that hasn’t watched Stranger Things. It’s on my list to watch but lately I’ve been reading so much and mourning the ending of Game of Thrones, that I have struggled to find something new to watch. But Stranger Things could easily be that show!

When I saw that this book was for fans of Stranger Things, I couldn’t help but be interested, because I know so many people adore that show, but then the publisher went the extra mile and likened this book to a cross between Stand By Me and Stranger Things. How could I say no?!

I loved Stand By Me and if there is a book that involves ghosts, then I am all ears! I am going to have this book up for review later this summer but until then, you guys need to have this book on your radar! I thumbed through my copy and couldn’t be more excited to start reading it! And the best part is, it’s our tomorrow! So read the rest of this post for a Q & A with the author and then order a copy because it sounds like it’s going to be the hot summer ticket! Continue reading “Special Feature and Interview: THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB by Craig Davidson”

Review: The Poison Thread by Laura Purcell

Laura Purcell is an author who is on auto-buy for me. I read The Silent Companions last year and fell head over heels for her writing! I devoured The Silent Companions in days and lost sleep not just from staying up reading but from the creep factor as well! Such an incredible book.

I was thrilled to see that she had a new book coming out, and intact, I sent off to the UK to have this one delivered because I loved the cover so much and couldn’t wait for her latest novel! I have had my eye on this book for months and couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. It sounds delightfully creepy and gothic!

Imagine my fan girl moment when I was approached to read this book early. I couldn’t wait t start reading and in fact, put everything else aside so that I could read this one first! Can you say, excited much? Continue reading “Review: The Poison Thread by Laura Purcell”