Review: The Doll Factory by Elizabeth Macneal

To say that I was exited to get this book in the mail is an absolute understatement. I actually squealed in excitement when I opened this book up!

The cover is magical and haunting and the summary sounded like something I was absolutely going to sink my teeth into immediately! Victorian England, creepy stalkers, and all sorts of disturbing gothic devices were promised in the summary.

I could hardly contain my excitement. I was ecstatic to read this one and cracked it open almost immediately and what awaited me in the pages was a dark and disturbing story in addition to creepy dolls. Continue reading “Review: The Doll Factory by Elizabeth Macneal”

Advertisements

Review: The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson

This was a book that I almost passed on for my review calendar. I was eager to do a feature and giveaway for it because I know that a lot of my readers are into the show Stranger Things  and this book was recommended for fans of the show.

But I wasn’t sure that this was going to be a book that I could fit into my summer reading. When the book arrived on my desk for review I looked at it and it was pretty short with fairly direct writing style and I thought about it a little bit but then casually set it aside.

The days went on and I kept looking at it on my shelf and couldn’t stop thinking that this might be a quick read and that it was simply calling my name. Finally I relented and picked it up and was hooked from the first chapter. Continue reading “Review: The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson”

Special Feature and Interview: THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB by Craig Davidson

I think I am part of the 1% of the population that hasn’t watched Stranger Things. It’s on my list to watch but lately I’ve been reading so much and mourning the ending of Game of Thrones, that I have struggled to find something new to watch. But Stranger Things could easily be that show!

When I saw that this book was for fans of Stranger Things, I couldn’t help but be interested, because I know so many people adore that show, but then the publisher went the extra mile and likened this book to a cross between Stand By Me and Stranger Things. How could I say no?!

I loved Stand By Me and if there is a book that involves ghosts, then I am all ears! I am going to have this book up for review later this summer but until then, you guys need to have this book on your radar! I thumbed through my copy and couldn’t be more excited to start reading it! And the best part is, it’s our tomorrow! So read the rest of this post for a Q & A with the author and then order a copy because it sounds like it’s going to be the hot summer ticket! Continue reading “Special Feature and Interview: THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB by Craig Davidson”

Review: The Poison Thread by Laura Purcell

Laura Purcell is an author who is on auto-buy for me. I read The Silent Companions last year and fell head over heels for her writing! I devoured The Silent Companions in days and lost sleep not just from staying up reading but from the creep factor as well! Such an incredible book.

I was thrilled to see that she had a new book coming out, and intact, I sent off to the UK to have this one delivered because I loved the cover so much and couldn’t wait for her latest novel! I have had my eye on this book for months and couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. It sounds delightfully creepy and gothic!

Imagine my fan girl moment when I was approached to read this book early. I couldn’t wait t start reading and in fact, put everything else aside so that I could read this one first! Can you say, excited much? Continue reading “Review: The Poison Thread by Laura Purcell”

Review: The Invited by Jennifer McMahon

I recently discovered Jennifer McMahon as an author just this last fall/winter. I know that she has a number of fans but to be honest—ghost stories freak me out and I rarely read them.

However, during the fall/winter, I saw that there was an Instagram group that was reading her novel, The Winter People, and though I didn’t participate in the reading group, I was nevertheless intrigued by the cover of the book and summary.

So I ended up reading it and absolutely fell in love with her prose and plot. While I was honest to god scared while reading The Winter People, I didn’t think that it was so scary that I couldn’t continue but rather scary enough that I couldn’t put it down! As soon as I finished that book I ordered two more books. But I am waiting to read them until the fall because I think they will be more fun to read when it’s a dark and stormy night. Plus I knew I had this one coming up so I wanted to spread out my terror! Continue reading “Review: The Invited by Jennifer McMahon”