Review: Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye

This has been the year of Jane Eyre inspired literature and this latest Jane Eyre revisitation was something quite unexpected.

Any book that has the passage ‘reader I murdered him’ so eloquently stated and matter-of-factly, instantly holds a special place in my heart!

When we first meet Jane Steele she is living with her mother in a small cottage on the grande estate of Highgate House. All her life Jane is told she is to inherit Highgate House but when her mother dies unexpectedly Jane’s evil aunt purposes to send her away to a school where she will learn to be a governess.

After first hearing this news, Jane runs onto the estate to weep and is accompanied by her cousin Edwin who proceeds to try and sexually assault her……but rather than let it happen Jane fights back and suddenly Edwin is dead by Jane’s hand.

Suddenly boarding school doesn’t sound so bad so off she goes. From there we follow Jane through not only a tedious childhood but often uncertain adulthood full of little lies and of course…..a few murders!

(more…)

Review: The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus by L. Frank Baum

Every year I plan on reading at least one sort of holiday book for the season. Some years are better than others, I would like to read more but it’s always hard to work them into my review schedule but this year, it worked out for me to read a couple of holiday books!

The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus was written by the same guy who wrote The Wizard of Oz! I had no idea that he wrote other works let alone holiday books so this was a real treat for me to read this holiday season.

This short, quick read is perfect for children and adults alike.Baum chronicles Santa’s life from his childhood in an enchanted forest—the same forest that is the source of all magic in the land of Oz—to his destiny of sharing gifts and spreading love to all he meets.

(more…)

Announcement: Winner THE FURTHER ADVENTURES OF EBENEZER SCROOGE by Charlie Lovett

And the winner of THE FURTHER ADVENTURES OF EBENEZER SCROOGE by Charlie Lovett is…..

Carl S (subscribes to blog)

The winner will be notified via email.

Thank you to everyone who entered and a huge thank you to the publisher for making this giveaway possible!

Giveaway: THE FURTHER ADVENTURES OF EBENEZER SCROOGE by Charlie Lovett

Written in uncannily Dickensian prose, Charlie Lovett’s The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge is both a loving and winking tribute to the Victorian classic, perfect for readers of A Christmas Carol and other timeless holiday tales.

Thanks to the publisher I am thrilled to be able to offer a giveaway copy of her latest book for your reading pleasure! Be sure to check out details about this edition at the end of the post here and be watching for my review of the book next month!

Giveaway runs 11/25/15 to 11/30/15

Winners will be announced 12/1/15.

(how to enter)

On this blog you must leave a comment to be entered in the giveaway.  Your comment MUST include your email so I can contact you….if you do not enter an email in the comments your entry will be void. Winners will be notified by email the day after the giveaway closes and have five days to respond, it not another winner will be chosen. 

(GIVEAWAY OPEN TO US ONLY AND NO PO BOX)

Make sure you note if you have done the following for more chances to win: Tweet about the giveaway (+1), share on Facebook (+1), like The Lit Bitch on Facebook (+1), follow The Lit Bitch on Twitter (+1), subscribe to The Lit Bitch’s blog (+1). Tweet/RT about the giveaway (+1). Share about the giveaway (+1).

Review: The Further Adventures of Ebenezer Scrooge by Charlie Lovett

Do you ever wonder what happened to our favorite old humbug after he was saved by all the Christmas ghosts? Did he continue spreading Christmas cheer or did he go back to his grouchy ways?

Well twenty years after the events of A Christmas Carol, Ebenezer Scrooge is still at it thankfully….but ironically, the towns people are getting a little tired of Scrooge and his Christmas cheer….every. single. day. of. the. year.

The ghost of Jacob Marley visits Scrooge to tell him that only five of his links have gone, which means he has more to go before he can be at peace. Scrooge wants to help his old friend (as well as other inhabitants of the city, he will need the assistance of the very people he’s annoyed), so he asks for the three spirits to visit him again.

By the time they’re done, they’ve convinced everyone to celebrate Christmas all year long by opening their wallets, arms, and hearts to those around them.

(more…)

%d bloggers like this: