Review: A Trace of Deceit (Victorian Mystery #2) by Karen Odden

I decided to read the first book in this series before picking this one up. Thinking that as it was a series, I would need to get caught up to speed with the characters before diving into this one.

As there was only one book, I figured it wouldn’t be a bad idea just to check it out. Well come to find out, I didn’t really need to read the first book in the series before this one, but I am still glad that I did as it gave readers a nice introduction to one of the main characters in this book, Matthew.

If you love historical mysteries, then I think this would be a great series to check out. I know I have enjoyed both books in the series so far, for different reasons and I hope you will think about checking out this author! Continue reading “Review: A Trace of Deceit (Victorian Mystery #2) by Karen Odden”

Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan

If you are a thriller fan, then you will no doubt have this book on your radar. I have seen a lot of positive feedback from early reviewers and I am excited to share a bit about this book with you all today.

I haven’t read anything by Gilly Macmillan before but this book might persuade me to pick up not only this one but a few of her other books as well (The Nanny I am looking at you!).

This book sounds like it would appeal to fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena so be sure to get this one on your TBR list and get all the info about this one right here on the blog today! Continue reading “Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan”

Review: A Dangerous Duet (Victorian Mystery #1) by Karen Odden

Karen Odden is an author I have had on my radar for a while but I just never seem to pick up any of her books.

Well that changed when I was asked to read the second book in the Victorian Mystery series. I thought I had better read the first book in the series before jumping into the second book, so I ordered this one and dove right in!

As many of you know, I never met a historical mystery that I didn’t like—ok well maybe there were a couple, but by and large, I love historical mysteries and I love discovering new heroines and heroes to admire. Continue reading “Review: A Dangerous Duet (Victorian Mystery #1) by Karen Odden”

Review: The Killings at Kingfisher Hill (New Hercule Poirot Mysteries #4) by Sophie Hannah

Is there really any debate about Agatha Christie being the queen of mysteries? I have only read a couple of her books and have enjoyed them very much but there is also a dated quality about them which was one of the reasons that I was excited to read this ‘New Hercule Poirot’ mystery from Sophie Hannah.

I haven’t read any of the ‘new’ Hercule Poirot mysteries before but I am familiar with his eccentric character and was really looking forward to this one.

One thing that grabbed my attention was that it had some hints of one of Christie’s classic novels, Murder on the Orient Express, so I was eager to check this one out and see a more modern take on this classic character. Continue reading “Review: The Killings at Kingfisher Hill (New Hercule Poirot Mysteries #4) by Sophie Hannah”

Special Feature: Don’t Look for Me by Wendy Walker

This lated book by Wendy Walker has been on my radar for months. I received a copy in late spring and have been drooling over the stunning cover for months.

I held off on reading it right away though because I know that my book club will probably be looking to this book in October to read. It sounds so so so good and I am thrilled to be sharing it with you guys today!

If you love thrillers then you will likely have heard about this book thanks to the big hype. I sure hope it lives up to expectations but to be honest, I am fairly sure it will as many early reviewers have been raving about this one! I have a feeling this is going to be a huge hit for this author! Continue reading “Special Feature: Don’t Look for Me by Wendy Walker”