Excerpt: Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward

If you like thrillers and mysteries then you don’t want to miss out on this new psychological thriller by Annie Ward. While this is her second novel, this is her first psychological thriller and this book is on excerpt tour right now.

Throughout this tour you will find a pretty broad sneak peak for this book. I am fortunate enough to kick this one off with the first excerpt.

Check out the excerpt below and the other stops on the tour for more previews of this novel. I read this excerpt and was intrigued by what I saw already!

Summary

A devoted wife, a loving husband and a chilling murder that no one saw coming.

Things that make me scared: When Charlie cries. Hospitals and lakes. When Ian drinks vodka in the basement. ISIS. When Ian gets angry… That something is really, really wrong with me.

Maddie and Ian’s love story began with a chance encounter at a party overseas; he was serving in the British army and she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian’s PTSD; her concerns for the safety of their young son; and the couple’s tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.

From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

Continue reading “Excerpt: Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward”

Advertisements

Review: The Suspect (Kate Waters #3) by Fiona Barton

Author, Fiona Barton, seems to have a rather large cult following on social media. Her books (especially this new one) have been all over my Instagram page and I have to admit, I was intrigued by the prospect of being able to fan girl a new-to-me author.

As I have said before, I am new to the thriller genre and often become intimidated by starting new series mid way through, however in recent years I have had fairly good luck with starting mid series.

I had seen that this book can be read as a stand alone, even though it is part of the Kate Waters seriesContinue reading “Review: The Suspect (Kate Waters #3) by Fiona Barton”

Review: The Break Line (Max McLean #1) by James Brabazon

When I first started blogging, I wasn’t reading too many thrillers, let alone government thrillers.

But over the years, I have read a few here and the genre started to grown on me. Since I started blogging, I have increased my thriller base substantially.

Often though, I find that I am coming into a thriller series late in the game, with established characters and well developed subplots. When I had the opportunity to start this government thriller from the beginning, I eagerly said yes.

This is a debut novel for author James Brabazon and his main character Max McLean so steaks are high for a solid introductory novel. Continue reading “Review: The Break Line (Max McLean #1) by James Brabazon”

Review: The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon

This book was going around Bookstagram (aka Instagram), for most of December. There were a couple of IG users that were hosting read alongs and I saw quite a few posts for this book and admittedly became intrigued.

This is an author that I have ever heard of before, which was actually surprising because she has written a number of ghost story thriller books so I am shocked that I haven’t come across her name before.

What ultimately drew me in and made me want to read this one was all the buzz on ‘the gram’ but also the cover. It looked haunting and the stark white contrast and eerie house completely drew me in. Before I knew it, I was desperately searching for a copy at my library that I could read and see what all the fuss was about.  Continue reading “Review: The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon”

Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous

This book came across my desk in the early fall for review and I was intrigued because it claims to be for fans of Kate Morton and VC Andrews….specifically stating that this is the book that would be born if Morton and Andrews had a book baby.

Now I have not read VC Andrews but I absolutely love Kate Morton so I was eager to see how this book stacked up to this high praise.

I love books about old buried family secrets and this book promised that and so much more, so I agreed to put this book on my reading radar for the winter. Continue reading “Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous”