Special Feature: House of Correction by Nicci French

I have really enjoyed the Frida Klein books by Nicci French and some of French’s standalone mysteries are wonderful reads too. This latest novel is a standalone mystery that promises dark twists.

This one sounds so intriguing with a woman arrested for murder but yet she cannot recall anything about the murder or the night in question but yet she is arrested and must prove her innocents.

I think this one sounds so compelling and interesting and with the writing skills that French is known for, I think this one is going to be excellent. I couldn’t fit it into my review calendar for this month but I am super excited to bring you all the details today!

Continue reading “Special Feature: House of Correction by Nicci French”

Review: In Case of Emergency by E. G. Scott

This book had so much potential for me. I loved the premise and I was excited to read it. It sounded like it was going to be quite the nail bitter and I think the cover has a lot of visual interest to grab readers right away.

I love books like this where the main character is a suspect in the murder of a complete stranger. For some reason that troupe always draws me in because that has got to be someone’s worst nightmare.

I mean, I don’t know what I would do if I was being treated as a person of interest in a murder of a person I had never met before. So right away this one sounded so amazing to me and I couldn’t wait to crack it open.

Continue reading “Review: In Case of Emergency by E. G. Scott”

Review: Invisible Girl by Lisa Jewell

I have only read one book by Lisa Jewell but I loved it and I was so excited to receive and ARC of her latest novel to read this fall!

I really enjoyed The Family Upstairs but this one sounded a little darker and more intense than The Family Upstairs, but I was really looking forward to it and was eager to sit down on a dark and stormy lazy weekend to devour this one.

One thing that I felt after reading Jewell’s The Family Upstairs was that she has a great way of adding substance and depth to all of her characters which is not always the case in the thriller genre. So when I picked this one up, that’s what I was expecting, in depth characters in a fast paced novel.

Continue reading “Review: Invisible Girl by Lisa Jewell”

Review: A Pretty Deceit (Verity Kent #4) by Anna Lee Huber

I have been a long time fan of Anna Lee Huber and I have read every single one of her books. I never miss one of her new releases so obviously I had the next Verity Kent book on my calendar months before its release.

When I first started this series it felt different than Huber’s other books not just in time period but in characters too. Verity Kent has a lot more grit and grey area to her than some of Huber’s other heroines.

And don’t even get me started on Sidney. I have struggled with Sidney’s character since the first book and have in all honesty never quite warmed up to him based on some of his deception. But I have stuck out this series because it is excellent. Continue reading “Review: A Pretty Deceit (Verity Kent #4) by Anna Lee Huber”

Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan

If you are a thriller fan, then you will no doubt have this book on your radar. I have seen a lot of positive feedback from early reviewers and I am excited to share a bit about this book with you all today.

I haven’t read anything by Gilly Macmillan before but this book might persuade me to pick up not only this one but a few of her other books as well (The Nanny I am looking at you!).

This book sounds like it would appeal to fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena so be sure to get this one on your TBR list and get all the info about this one right here on the blog today! Continue reading “Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan”