Review: A Trace of Deceit (Victorian Mystery #2) by Karen Odden

I decided to read the first book in this series before picking this one up. Thinking that as it was a series, I would need to get caught up to speed with the characters before diving into this one.

As there was only one book, I figured it wouldn’t be a bad idea just to check it out. Well come to find out, I didn’t really need to read the first book in the series before this one, but I am still glad that I did as it gave readers a nice introduction to one of the main characters in this book, Matthew.

If you love historical mysteries, then I think this would be a great series to check out. I know I have enjoyed both books in the series so far, for different reasons and I hope you will think about checking out this author! Continue reading “Review: A Trace of Deceit (Victorian Mystery #2) by Karen Odden”

Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan

If you are a thriller fan, then you will no doubt have this book on your radar. I have seen a lot of positive feedback from early reviewers and I am excited to share a bit about this book with you all today.

I haven’t read anything by Gilly Macmillan before but this book might persuade me to pick up not only this one but a few of her other books as well (The Nanny I am looking at you!).

This book sounds like it would appeal to fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena so be sure to get this one on your TBR list and get all the info about this one right here on the blog today! Continue reading “Special Feature: To Tell You the Truth by Gilly Macmillan”

Special Feature: Flirtation and Folly by Elizabeth Rasche

Flirtation and Folly
by Elizabeth Rasche

Publication Date: November 10, 2020
Quills and Quartos Publishing
Paperback & eBook; 326 pages

Series: A Season in London, Book One
Genre: Historical Romance/Victorian

Marianne Mowbrey is a responsible country rector’s daughter who longs for the novelty and excitement she reads about in novels. When her crusty Aunt Harriet agrees to give her a Season in London, Marianne vows to dazzle the world, win a husband, and never go home again. But the Londoners who determine social success are inclined to pass over plain Marianne in favor of her beautiful, reckless younger sister.

In a world of ambition, fashion, flattery, and deceit, how can Marianne stay true to her real self—when she is not even sure what that real self is? Continue reading “Special Feature: Flirtation and Folly by Elizabeth Rasche”

Cover Reveal: Under The Southern Sky by Kristy Woodson Harvey

To say that I love Kristy Woodson Harvey is a slight understatement! I adore her! I have loved all of her books and I have been looking forward to this one for quite a while.

Today I am thrilled to bring you a little about the book as well as help reveal this stunning cover! The book isn’t coming out until April 2021 but I am already dreaming of warm summer breezes and lazy beach days thanks to this cover and the fall just started.

If you love Southern fiction then you will likely have heard about Kristy Woodson Harvey but for me she is an author you have to experience for yourself. She has been a tried and true author for me and every year I look forward to what she’s going to come up with next and this one sounds so excellent! Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Under The Southern Sky by Kristy Woodson Harvey”

Special Feature: A Most English Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria’s Daughter by Clare McHugh

Queen Victoria is hands down my favorite British Queen. Not only was she an interesting and powerful ruler, but her romance and marriage with Prince Albert was decidedly romantic and I just can’t get enough of it.

But I will admit that I know little about her children other than she had tons and tons of children who eventually went on to wed other powerful rulers in Europe.

When I saw that this book was coming out, I jumped on it. It sounds so interesting to me even if it is more fictional than non fiction. I couldn’t fit it into my review calendar for the month but I am going to read it a little later on this year and I can’t wait to see how it is! The cover is stunning and the story sounds tantalizing and intriguing! Continue reading “Special Feature: A Most English Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria’s Daughter by Clare McHugh”