Review: To Sir Phillip, With Love (Bridgertons #5) by Julia Quinn

Another post another Bridgerton novel up for review! I honestly had planned to pace myself when it came to reading these books. I mean I devoured the show in one sitting and the only regret that I had was that it was over! I wanted to savor the books a little more and spread them out but sadly that is NOT happening.

I have really enjoyed Julia Quinn’s writing as the books have gone on. The first book, The Duke and I, was good but there were some issues that I struggled with, but as the books have gone on I have enjoyed getting to know the various Bridgerton siblings in new ways and watching their HEA unfold.

Eloise has been one of my favorite of the Bridgerton siblings. She is vivacious and chatty and self aware in a way that some heroines just aren’t at times. She is no nonsense and isn’t afraid to speak her mind in a rather unapologetic way and I love her for it. I have been really eager to read her romance since starting the series.

Continue reading “Review: To Sir Phillip, With Love (Bridgertons #5) by Julia Quinn”

Review: Lana’s War by Anita Abriel

Last year I read Anita Abriel’s debut novel, The Light After the War, and it was good for a debut novel. I don’t know that I loved it, but I enjoyed it and was looking forward to seeing how her writing evolved in future books.

The author’s mother was a Holocaust survivor so it’s not surprise that the author drew in real events and personal history not only with her first novel but with this one as well. With having the first book under her belt, this was one I was really looking forward to exploring and seeing how things evolved from the first book to the second.

The author’s books aren’t a series, but there are clearly themes in both books that are similar and clearly close to her heart. This book was really up there on my anticipated list because the plot sounded dangerous. The main female character works as a spy to infiltrate the Nazi organization. While perhaps not unique in historical fiction, the way the story was described, promised tension and danger which made me really eager to read it.

Continue reading “Review: Lana’s War by Anita Abriel”

Review: Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgertons #4) by Julia Quinn

Something about the Bridgerton books is compelling me to binge read them all. When I read The Duke and I last spring, I had no idea that I was going to eventually binge all of the books once the show came out. Obviously I love the show and I couldn’t wait to get more of the Bridgerton’s and to be honest, Colin and Penelope’s romance was one I was eagerly anticipating!

So far The Viscount Who Loved Me is my absolute favorite in the series, as I am a huge fan of enemies to lovers and that book was hands down my fav troupe! But I also wouldn’t pass up a friends to lovers troupe either and Colin and Penelope have been favorite fringe characters for me in the previous books so I couldn’t wait to watch them fall in love.

Especially in the third book, Quinn set up their romance perfectly when Colin insults Penelope in the third book, I was like dear god hurry up and get done so I can start on Colin and Penelope’s story already! These books don’t need to be read in order but I personally prefer them in order as there are little Easter eggs and set ups in each book for the next one.

Continue reading “Review: Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgertons #4) by Julia Quinn”

Special Feature: The Canterbury Murders (Stanton & Barling #3) by E.M. Powell

Publication Date: November 12, 2020
Crosshaven Press

Series: Stanton & Barling, #3
Genre: Historical Fiction/Mystery

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

Available on Amazon

Continue reading “Special Feature: The Canterbury Murders (Stanton & Barling #3) by E.M. Powell”

Review: Meet Me in Bombay by Jenny Ashcroft

I absolutely love seeing more and more exotic locations in the historical fiction genre. Most historical fiction novels are set places like England or America with the occasional France thrown in for fun-sies. But there are many compelling stories coming out of exotic locations recently and I am so excited to read those stories. One of my new favorite settings in historical fiction is Bombay.

In the fall I read Murder in Old Bombay and it felt like such an exotic treat for me and when I saw this one was coming out I jumped on it, mostly for the location, but also because I never met a WWI romance that I didn’t love. While not exclusively a romance, this book has a strong romantic storyline and I couldn’t wait to read something new feeling.

I know that some readers did not enjoy the setting of this book and some felt that the setting was just another glorification of white colonization of the Indian people. But for me, it was a novel with great stories and a new setting that wasn’t just another novel set in England. Though the setting drew me in, it was the characters and the plot won me over.

Continue reading “Review: Meet Me in Bombay by Jenny Ashcroft”