Review: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Please excuse me while I fan girl and gush over this book. Mexican Gothic was on my radar months ago and I have been eager to read it ever since I downloaded my ARC back in February.

That cover is outstanding and the whole summary spoke to my dark heart. One of my favorite authors is Victoria Holt and I absolutely adore all of her books. The author of this book, Silvia Moreno-Garcia wrote a fantastic piece in the book club kit for this book all about the popularity of novels similar to Victoria Holt. It’s worth reading so you should absolutely check it out.

This book was also a Book of the Month pick for July and has been getting a TON of hype especially with the movement for inclusiveness and BIPOC authors in the publishing industry. I think this book came at just the right time and it’s a gem! Continue reading “Review: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia”

Review: The House of Whispers by Laura Purcell

Laura Purcell is an auto buy author for me. I fell in love with The Silent Companions and after that she secured herself ‘auto buy’ status from me! I love how deliciously gothic and creepy her books are and this one was on my radar months ago!

I love the Gothic troupe of an old crumbling house and a crazy lady in the attic, and this book totally sounded like it would meet all of my expectations. Purcell has a wonderful way of sending chills up readers spines without even trying! To say that I was excited for this one is an understatement!

In the UK this one is also called Bone China and I was kind of sad to see that the US publisher changed the name to The House of Whispers, but in the end I think either title worked well for this book. At any rate, I couldn’t wait to start this one! Continue reading “Review: The House of Whispers by Laura Purcell”

Review: The Ancestor by Danielle Trussoni

The anticipation I had for this book was undeniable. I haven’t read anything by this author before, but I was in a Facebook group chat with her and won a copy of this book and couldn’t believe how good it sounded.

I have only recently really gotten into the horror genre, I love Gothic fiction (to me there is a big difference) but recently I have opened up to reading more and more traditional horror books and this one sounded like a perfect blend of Gothic and horror.

I was literally watching my mailbox like a hawk waiting for this one to arrive and when it finally did, I tore into it right away! Continue reading “Review: The Ancestor by Danielle Trussoni”

Review: The Woman in the Mirror by Rebecca James

By all accounts this book was practically guaranteed a five star review. It had all the things I love in a Gothic tale…..the wild Cornish coast with foggy/misty mornings, a broken hero, a dark secret, an innocent but curious heroine, and so much atmosphere.

It sounded like a modern Victoria Holt novel and I just couldn’t wait to crack it open! I have read only one other book by this author, Sweet Damages, but it was so long ago that I read it, that I can’t quite recall all the details but I remember that it was more of a modern Gothic tale.

This book mixes modern Gothic with classical Gothic in the duel storylines so I think it will appeal to a lot of readers, especially if you love the Gothic and ghosts! Continue reading “Review: The Woman in the Mirror by Rebecca James”

Special Feature and Giveaway: Paperback Release for The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr

The Lost History of Dreams
by Kris Waldherr

Paperback Publication Date: February 18, 2020
Atria Books
Hardcover & eBook; 336 Pages

Genre: Historical/Gothic/Mystery

 

 

The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr is now out in paperback! In it, a post-mortem photographer unearths the dark secrets of a famed poet’s marriage in this “sensual, twisting gothic tale…in the tradition of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, and Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights” (BookPage). Blurring the line between the past and the present, truth and fiction, and ultimately, life and death, The Lost History of Dreams is “a surrealist, haunting tale of suspense where every prediction turns out to be merely a step toward a bigger reveal” (Booklist).

When famed Byronesque poet Hugh de Bonne is found dead in his bath one morning in 1850, final arrangements are left to his estranged cousin, historian turned postmortem photographer Robert Highstead. De Bonne’s will instructs that he should be buried in a stained glass chapel set on the Shropshire moors, built to house the remains of his beloved wife and muse, Ada. It has since been locked to all outsiders—especially the cultlike fans of de Bonne’s final book, The Lost History of Dreams. Only Ada’s grief-stricken niece, Isabelle, holds the key, but she refuses to open the chapel unless Robert agrees to her bargain: Before he can lay Hugh to rest, Robert must record the real story behind her aunt’s ill-fated marriage to the poet over the course of five nights—a story that is both love story and ghost story.

Learn more here. Continue reading “Special Feature and Giveaway: Paperback Release for The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr”