Review: The Woman in the Mirror by Rebecca James

By all accounts this book was practically guaranteed a five star review. It had all the things I love in a Gothic tale…..the wild Cornish coast with foggy/misty mornings, a broken hero, a dark secret, an innocent but curious heroine, and so much atmosphere.

It sounded like a modern Victoria Holt novel and I just couldn’t wait to crack it open! I have read only one other book by this author, Sweet Damages, but it was so long ago that I read it, that I can’t quite recall all the details but I remember that it was more of a modern Gothic tale.

This book mixes modern Gothic with classical Gothic in the duel storylines so I think it will appeal to a lot of readers, especially if you love the Gothic and ghosts! Continue reading “Review: The Woman in the Mirror by Rebecca James”

Special Feature and Giveaway: Paperback Release for The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr

The Lost History of Dreams
by Kris Waldherr

Paperback Publication Date: February 18, 2020
Atria Books
Hardcover & eBook; 336 Pages

Genre: Historical/Gothic/Mystery

 

 

The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr is now out in paperback! In it, a post-mortem photographer unearths the dark secrets of a famed poet’s marriage in this “sensual, twisting gothic tale…in the tradition of A.S. Byatt’s Possession, Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, and Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights” (BookPage). Blurring the line between the past and the present, truth and fiction, and ultimately, life and death, The Lost History of Dreams is “a surrealist, haunting tale of suspense where every prediction turns out to be merely a step toward a bigger reveal” (Booklist).

When famed Byronesque poet Hugh de Bonne is found dead in his bath one morning in 1850, final arrangements are left to his estranged cousin, historian turned postmortem photographer Robert Highstead. De Bonne’s will instructs that he should be buried in a stained glass chapel set on the Shropshire moors, built to house the remains of his beloved wife and muse, Ada. It has since been locked to all outsiders—especially the cultlike fans of de Bonne’s final book, The Lost History of Dreams. Only Ada’s grief-stricken niece, Isabelle, holds the key, but she refuses to open the chapel unless Robert agrees to her bargain: Before he can lay Hugh to rest, Robert must record the real story behind her aunt’s ill-fated marriage to the poet over the course of five nights—a story that is both love story and ghost story.

Learn more here. Continue reading “Special Feature and Giveaway: Paperback Release for The Lost History of Dreams by Kris Waldherr”

Review: When Maidens Mourn (Sebastian St. Cyr #7) by C.S. Harris

I have decided that I need to start writing my reviews on the Sebastian St Cyr books immediately after finishing them now, because as soon as I put one down, I pick up the next one. Then on days like today when I am going back to write my reviews, I realize that I am on book 9 and have to think back to two books before.

What I am trying to say is, the mysteries are running together for me and I am not even mad about it! So let me try and think back to this book which I only finished a couple of days ago, but it seems like a lifetime ago now.

This series has really held up for me. It’s not easy to binge read a series as lengthy as this one but I am doing it and not even apologizing. I love this series and while some books might be slightly formulaic, it’s the evolution of Sebastian’s character that stands the test of time for me. Continue reading “Review: When Maidens Mourn (Sebastian St. Cyr #7) by C.S. Harris”

Re-Post Review: The Winters by Lisa Gabriele

With the release of the paperback version of this lovely book, I wanted to take a minute and re-share my review with you guys! I know that many of you loved the classic story of Rebecca and this book here in a modern retake on that classic gothic novel.

I really enjoyed this one and easily gave it 4 stars. It had loads of atmosphere and all the gothic hallmarks that I enjoy in a novel. I also have a copy of the paperback version up for giveaway today on my Instagram so be sure to stop by and enter to win a copy!

As a side note, I wanted to say how much I love this new cover redesign! The bright red cover of the hardback novel is nice and all, but I thought the dark moody-ness of this cover, paired with the castle on the front really made it stand out and appealing! Absolutely love it! Anyway check out my re-share here to see what I thought of this book when I read it! Continue reading “Re-Post Review: The Winters by Lisa Gabriele”

Review: Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles #1) by Anne Rice (Audible Edition)

I have had Interview with a Vampire on my TBR list for YEARS. The 1994 film was a favorite of mine and I was eager to read the books when I was older.

My sister and mom gave me the book on more than one occasion to read but it just never felt like the right time, but for some reason, after Halloween this year felt like that right time.

That was when I started this audiobook…..early Nov and here it is the first part of Jan and I am just now finishing it. Simon Vance was the narrator and he did a fabulous job with the narration, but I still had mixed feelings about the overall story. Continue reading “Review: Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles #1) by Anne Rice (Audible Edition)”