Review: The Proposal (The Survivors’ Club #1) by Mary Balogh

I love romance novels but to be honest, sometimes the covers are tacky and embarrassing to be toting around the lunch room, am I right? Well, thank the lord of Kindle because most of my romances I read now are on Kindle.

For Valentine’s Day, my mom sent me a hard copy of this book…..tacky cover and all. I couldn’t stop laughing when I opened it and then read the card. The card said ‘skip the sex parts’. Gotta love moms!

She hounded me for a few days to read this one so I finally relinquished and read it. I have never read anything by this author before, but my mom has read the entire series and loved it so I figured, why not, as I was between murder mysteries! Continue reading “Review: The Proposal (The Survivors’ Club #1) by Mary Balogh”

Take Two Review: Who Slays the Wicked (Sebastian St. Cyr #14) by C.S. Harris

Last year in April, I read this installment of the Sebastian St Cyr series and I while I thought it was good, it was only my fourth book of the series I had read so naturally I was missing a substantial amount of the character nuances.

This series as a whole, can be read as a stand alones for the most part, but there are a couple of books where the mysteries overlap and this being one of them. There are many characters from an earlier book, Where the Dead Lie, which was the first Sebastian book that I had read. The first time I read this installment, I felt as though I understood some of the back story.

But now that I have gone back and re-read the entire series beginning to end so that I can better understand the characters and such, I felt as though I enjoyed this one much better this time around given the scope of the character arcs and backstories. Continue reading “Take Two Review: Who Slays the Wicked (Sebastian St. Cyr #14) by C.S. Harris”

Special Feature and Excerpt: Promised: A Proper Romance by Leah Garriott

This book has been popping up quite a bit in my recommendations around the web. I first saw it on Goodreads and as ‘readers who read this book liked…’ and then on my Amazon.

I was thrilled to be part of this tour and bring you guys a little sneak peak with an excerpt. Now that I have read the excerpt, I have decided that I need the book because it just sounds so sweet and fun! Plus look at that cover….just wow!

This book is perfect for fans of Jane Austen who are looking for something similar and who enjoy Regency era romances. I can’t wait to read this one, so keep reading for a little sneak peak of this upcoming sweet historical romance. Continue reading “Special Feature and Excerpt: Promised: A Proper Romance by Leah Garriott”

Take Two Review: Why Kill the Innocent (Sebastian St. Cyr #13) by C.S. Harris

When I first read this book, it was only the third book I had read in this series. I read book 1 and then book 12 before reading this one and that was it. I went into this one feeling a little lost in the series in regards to the principle characters, but tried to keep my focus on the mystery itself.

Then back in Dec, I decided to bit the bullet as it were and read the entire series again from beginning to end as it was intended and what I have discovered is this series is positively unputdownable!

While I might not love every book in the series, I have found that I now can fully appreciate the detailed nuances of the character connections, changes, and relationships much better than when I picked this one up originally! Continue reading “Take Two Review: Why Kill the Innocent (Sebastian St. Cyr #13) by C.S. Harris”

Take Two Review: Where the Dead Lie (Sebastian St. Cyr #12) by C.S. Harris

I was first approached to read this series in 2017. At that time I hadn’t heard of Sebastian St Cyr and was hesitant to read the twelfth book in the series, so I read the first book with the intention of reading the series before this one, but sadly that was overly ambitious and I only had time for book 1 and then moved right into this one.

At that time I enjoyed the mystery and didn’t feel lost in the mystery itself, but definitely felt lost with some of the other plot points threaded through out the series. As a result, I felt that it was a worthy while read but I missed the nuances of the narrative and didn’t focus on the mystery as much because I was trying to figure out what had changed since the first book.

Now that I am re-reading the entire series from beginning to end, I am finally back to where it all began, with the twelfth book and I was eager to see if I enjoyed it more or less this time around. Continue reading “Take Two Review: Where the Dead Lie (Sebastian St. Cyr #12) by C.S. Harris”