Spcial Feature: HOUSE ON ENDLESS WATERS by Emuna Elon

I love seeing all the new and promising books at the beginning of a new year and this year is no different. There are so many books coming out not only this month, but throughout 2020 and it is looking like 2020 will be a great reading year for me.

One of those hot new releases is this lovely book right here. Perfect for fans of historical fiction as well as family sagas, HOUSE ON ENDLESS WATERS (out tomorrow 1/7/20) promises a lot of drama and a sweeping family drama.

HOUSE ON ENDLESS WATERS is a gorgeously written and translated work from an award-winning Israeli author about the complex nature of identity and the inextricability of past and present. Be sure to get this one on your radar readers, it sounds like it’s going to be a good one!

Summary

For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother’s wartime experience—unearthing a remarkable story that becomes the subject of his magnum opus.

At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to meet with his Dutch publisher, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon a looping reel of photos offering a glimpse of pre-war Dutch Jewish life, and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with her husband, Yoel’s older sister, Nettie…and an infant he doesn’t recognize.

This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, revealing Amsterdam’s dark wartime history and the underground networks which hid Jewish children away from danger—but at a cost. The deeper into the past Yoel digs, the better he understands his mother’s silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime—Who am I?—becomes. Evocative, insightful, and deeply resonant, House on Endless Waters beautifully illustrates the complex nature of identity and belonging, and the inextricability of past and present. (summary from Goodreads). 

WHERE TO BUY (AFFILIATE LINKS)

Charming comments go here!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s