Re-Post Review: The Lost Queen (The Lost Queen Trilogy #1) by Signe Pike

As we approach the ending of a decade and another year, the one question I get asked is what was your favorite read of 2019?

This book, The Lost Queen, I read back in 2018 but it was late 2018 (October) and I feel like it still resonates with me over a year later. I gave it five stars and constantly recommend it to everyone I meet and I also gave it to both my sister and mom for Christmas last year.

It was released in paperback in June 2019 so I am still going to count this as a favorite book for 2019 because of the paperback release…..is that cheating? If so I don’t even care. This book was incredible!

I am re-sharing my review with you guys today as we lead up to the holiday season. Perhaps you are looking for a last minute gift for the reader in your life, if so look no further. This book is definitely perfect for fans of Outlander, Arthurian legends, and of course Game of Thrones fans, plus the next book in the trilogy will be out in the fall of 2020 and you better believe I am setting aside plenty of time to read it!

I also have a giveaway for a paperback edition of this book going on over on my Instagram page so be sure to stop by and enter for a chance to win this book for yourself! Continue reading “Re-Post Review: The Lost Queen (The Lost Queen Trilogy #1) by Signe Pike”

Review: The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern (Audible Edition)

This was my most anticipated read of the year. I had it on pre order for months and I even got the Audible edition because I knew I would never be able to put it down!

The book arrived and it was beautiful and it has been all over my IG feed because I simply love it.

I also loved Erin Morgenstern’s debut novel, The Night Circus, and I couldn’t imagine a world in which I wouldn’t feel the same about this book. So the fateful day came and I downloaded the Audible edition and started reading the day after it was released…..and finally almost 6 weeks later I simply just had to admit that it was going to be a DNF for me. Continue reading “Review: The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern (Audible Edition)”

Review: Things She’s Seen (Northern Circle Coven #2) by Pat Esden

When I started reading this one, I didn’t know that it was part of a series. I read the summary and I thought it sounded interesting and I was totally on board with reading it.

I started to notice fairly quickly that I was missing some gaps in the story and I went on to Goodreads and noticed that it was in fact the second book in a series. I decided to keep plugging away at this book though rather than go back to read the first book.

While I was missing some bits of the larger story, I thought the author was doing a reasonable job keeping the reader up on the goings on of the previous book. Continue reading “Review: Things She’s Seen (Northern Circle Coven #2) by Pat Esden”

Review: The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3) by Holly Black

Here we are, the last review for the last book in this horribly addicting series. As I mentioned in my review of The Cruel Prince, this was a series that I was sure that I wouldn’t like so thus I avoided it like the plague.

But I couldn’t deny the hype for the final installment of the series, The Queen of Nothing. My IG feed was saturated with pics of this book and people re-reading the series again in preparation so I found it extra hard to resist reading the first book.

After a couple of chapters of book one, I knew I was a hooked and ordered the remaining books immediately and read the entire series in like 4 days and then suffered a horrible book hangover where I feared I would never find anything as exciting as this series in the future. It was just that good! Continue reading “Review: The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3) by Holly Black”

Review: The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) by Holly Black

So as soon as I finished the first book in this series, The Cruel Prince, I knew I immediately needed the next two books so I ordered them before I was done with the first book.

I will say this, it’s been a long time since I have woken up early to read a book, let alone finishing a series of three books  in four days. But this series made me fall back in love with YA fantasy and made me love early morning reading sessions again!

I’ll be honest, it’s hard for me to write this review because the three books all blurred together because I read them so quickly but I will try my best to focus on this book specifically. Continue reading “Review: The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) by Holly Black”