Review: Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

Jess Kidd is an author who keeps flying around in my radar but yet I just never seem to have the time to fit in her books. That and I just wasn’t completely sold on the fact that I would love this author. I mean some of her books sound good—but quirky.

I love quirky as much as the next person, but I need to be in the mood for quirky and I just haven’t been lately, but then this book started popping up on my radar and I started to rethink that decision.

This book caught my eye because it was set in the Victorian era and the word gothic lit, which if you know me, then you know it is basically impossible for me to pass on Victorian era gothic lit books, so here we are. Continue reading “Review: Things in Jars by Jess Kidd”

Review: Starborn (Born Prophecy #2) by Katie MacAlister

When this book came up for review, I quickly noticed that it was part of a series and with a fantasy novel, it’s so hard to skip around in the series, so I decided to read the first book before I picked this one up for review.

I am glad I noticed that this was part of a series because I would have been so lost without that first book so if you haven’t read the first book, stop and read it before moving on to this one!

When I read the first book there were a couple of small concerns I had going into this one, but not enough concerns about the story to not want to read this one, in fact I was hoping this one would be better than the first book. Continue reading “Review: Starborn (Born Prophecy #2) by Katie MacAlister”

Review: We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) by Hafsah Faizal

I have been following Hafsah Faizal on Twitter since the beginning of time it feels like. She was first a designer of websites and other bookish merch and I was thrilled to see that she was working on her very own novel!

Watching her journey unfold on social media has been wonderful to watch and I couldn’t wait for the release of this novel. I had it on pre-order for months and when it finally showed up I was eager to crack it open.

The cover is stunning and the premise sounds so exciting with a strong middle eastern flavor and I was totally here for it! Continue reading “Review: We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) by Hafsah Faizal”

Review: Fireborn (Born Prophecy #1) by Katie MacAlister

This author is a new to me author, but she has written a number of other series that are paranomal romances. I was approached about reading her new release in this series, Starborn, and I wasn’t sure that it would work as a standalone so I asked to read the first book in the series first which was this one, Fireborn.

Honestly I didn’t really know what to expect, I just knew that I liked the sound of Starborn and wanted to read it, but knew that in many fantasy books it’s difficult to jump around so I decided to start here.

At just under 300 pages, this one was relatively short for a fantasy novel and I figured I could hammer it out before the year was over. Plus I mean, look at that cover? It’s beautiful and I simply couldn’t pass it up! Continue reading “Review: Fireborn (Born Prophecy #1) by Katie MacAlister”

Re-Post Review: The Lost Queen (The Lost Queen Trilogy #1) by Signe Pike

As we approach the ending of a decade and another year, the one question I get asked is what was your favorite read of 2019?

This book, The Lost Queen, I read back in 2018 but it was late 2018 (October) and I feel like it still resonates with me over a year later. I gave it five stars and constantly recommend it to everyone I meet and I also gave it to both my sister and mom for Christmas last year.

It was released in paperback in June 2019 so I am still going to count this as a favorite book for 2019 because of the paperback release…..is that cheating? If so I don’t even care. This book was incredible!

I am re-sharing my review with you guys today as we lead up to the holiday season. Perhaps you are looking for a last minute gift for the reader in your life, if so look no further. This book is definitely perfect for fans of Outlander, Arthurian legends, and of course Game of Thrones fans, plus the next book in the trilogy will be out in the fall of 2020 and you better believe I am setting aside plenty of time to read it!

I also have a giveaway for a paperback edition of this book going on over on my Instagram page so be sure to stop by and enter for a chance to win this book for yourself! Continue reading “Re-Post Review: The Lost Queen (The Lost Queen Trilogy #1) by Signe Pike”