Review: Miss Austen by Gill Hornby

As a Jane Austen fan, this was a must read for me. While it is a fictionalized account of Cassandra Austen’s life, it was one that I was eager to read and enjoy.

This book came in at just under 300 pages (about 290) and to be honest, I was worried that because of the length, it would only scratch the surface of Cassandra’s story.

But I have never been more pleased to be wrong in my assumption! This book packed an emotional punch that I wasn’t expecting but it worked so well and I happily passed a few quarantined days reading this book! Continue reading “Review: Miss Austen by Gill Hornby”

Review: The Arrangement (The Survivors’ Club #2) by Mary Balogh

As many of you might recall, my mom set me the first book in this series for Valentines Day with the PSA to skip all the sex parts.

Which was entirely unnecessary as the sex was shockingly tame in the first book, though I can’t say that I loved Hugo very much. So when I finished that one, I was not at all surprised when the second book in the series showed up thanks to my mother.

Again, when I opened the box and saw this cover, I had to laugh once more. It screams cliche tacky romance novel. I love romances so much though (tacky cover or not!) and all the reviews I saw for this one said this was their favorite in the series, so I was eager to start it! Continue reading “Review: The Arrangement (The Survivors’ Club #2) by Mary Balogh”

Review: The Proposal (The Survivors’ Club #1) by Mary Balogh

I love romance novels but to be honest, sometimes the covers are tacky and embarrassing to be toting around the lunch room, am I right? Well, thank the lord of Kindle because most of my romances I read now are on Kindle.

For Valentine’s Day, my mom sent me a hard copy of this book…..tacky cover and all. I couldn’t stop laughing when I opened it and then read the card. The card said ‘skip the sex parts’. Gotta love moms!

She hounded me for a few days to read this one so I finally relinquished and read it. I have never read anything by this author before, but my mom has read the entire series and loved it so I figured, why not, as I was between murder mysteries! Continue reading “Review: The Proposal (The Survivors’ Club #1) by Mary Balogh”

Take Two Review: Who Slays the Wicked (Sebastian St. Cyr #14) by C.S. Harris

Last year in April, I read this installment of the Sebastian St Cyr series and I while I thought it was good, it was only my fourth book of the series I had read so naturally I was missing a substantial amount of the character nuances.

This series as a whole, can be read as a stand alones for the most part, but there are a couple of books where the mysteries overlap and this being one of them. There are many characters from an earlier book, Where the Dead Lie, which was the first Sebastian book that I had read. The first time I read this installment, I felt as though I understood some of the back story.

But now that I have gone back and re-read the entire series beginning to end so that I can better understand the characters and such, I felt as though I enjoyed this one much better this time around given the scope of the character arcs and backstories. Continue reading “Take Two Review: Who Slays the Wicked (Sebastian St. Cyr #14) by C.S. Harris”

Special Feature and Excerpt: Promised: A Proper Romance by Leah Garriott

This book has been popping up quite a bit in my recommendations around the web. I first saw it on Goodreads and as ‘readers who read this book liked…’ and then on my Amazon.

I was thrilled to be part of this tour and bring you guys a little sneak peak with an excerpt. Now that I have read the excerpt, I have decided that I need the book because it just sounds so sweet and fun! Plus look at that cover….just wow!

This book is perfect for fans of Jane Austen who are looking for something similar and who enjoy Regency era romances. I can’t wait to read this one, so keep reading for a little sneak peak of this upcoming sweet historical romance. Continue reading “Special Feature and Excerpt: Promised: A Proper Romance by Leah Garriott”