Review: The Last Town (Wayward Pines #3) by Blake Crouch

The last time we saw Wayward Pines, all hell was breaking loose…..literally! The abbys had arrived in town and everything was in complete and utter chaos.

Ethan Burke called David Pilcher’s bluff and told the residents of Wayward Pines what the town really was and in retaliation, Pilcher opened the gates and let the abbys in. Now the town is under attack and there is no way to stop the abbys.

With humanity down to only 400 people, there aren’t that many people to ‘spare’ and with the abbys making short work of the remaining towns people, Ethan hopes to find a way to stop the abbys and save the residents of Wayward Pines before it’s too late!

Armed with only a few weapons and residents with little combat or shooting knowledge, the odds are against Ethan but he isn’t willing to give up his family or his life just yet.

Continue reading “Review: The Last Town (Wayward Pines #3) by Blake Crouch”

Advertisements

Review: Wayward (Wayward Pines #2) by Blake Crouch

After burning through the first book of the Wayward Pines series, I immediately picked up the second book and started reading.

The first book ended with some stunning revelations about what exactly the town of Wayward Pines, Idaho really was.

Ethan Burke was finally coming to terms with his position in Wayward Pines and finally beginning to understand what exactly was at stake should he continue to fight conformity.

But then suddenly there is a murder in Wayward Pines…..the first one….well the first one that wasn’t orchestrated or planned anyway.

Continue reading “Review: Wayward (Wayward Pines #2) by Blake Crouch”

Review: Pines (Wayward Pines #1) by Blake Crouch

Not many network TV shows catch my eye, I’m typically an HBO girl when it comes to ‘my shows’ but something about Wayward Pines on Fox caught my eye and after the first episode I was hooked.

What kind of weirdness is this?

It wasn’t until the third episode that I noticed it was based on a book series, so like a good bookaholic I raced out and bought the first book to start reading immediately!

Secret Service agent, Ethan Burke, was sent to Wayward Pines to find two missing agents but Ethan and his partner were hit by a truck.

When Ethan wakes up in Wayward Pines hospital it’s pretty clear that something is a off. The town just doesn’t seem right.

He has no ID, no money, and no badge. He keeps trying to call his family and his office but no one will return his calls. Everyone in Wayward Pines seems nice enough but, there is something off…..hell even the beer tastes funny.

Continue reading “Review: Pines (Wayward Pines #1) by Blake Crouch”

Cover Reveal: UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN by Renee Collins

For fans of Susanna Kearsley comes a time-slip romance where love, murder, and mystery make for a swoon-worthy read.

UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN is The Time Traveler’s Wife for teens, and meets 1920s glamour that’s perfect for fans of The Great Gatsby and Bright Young Things .

UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN Summary

They exist in two different centuries, but their love defies time.

Cassandra is a headstrong teenager craving drama and adventure, so the last thing she wants is to spend her summer marooned with her mother and new stepfather in a snooty Massachusetts shore town. But when a dreamy stranger named Lawrence shows up on their private beach claiming it’s his own—and that the year is 1925—she is swept into a mystery a hundred years in the making.

As she searches for answers in the present, Cassandra discovers a truth that puts their growing love—and Lawrence’s life—in jeopardy. Desperate to save him, Cassandra must find a way to change history—or risk losing Lawrence forever.

Biography

Renee Collins grew up on a beach in Hawaii. Sadly, she never met anyone from the past on those shores, but she did go on to get a degree in History, which is almost the same.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23277959-until-we-meet-again

Social Networking Links:

Website: http://reneecollinsauthor.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/reneecollins_

Review: Successio (Roma Nova #3) by Alison Morton

As many of you are aware, I have been very impressed with this new series. This is the first and really, the only, alternative history book that I’ve come across in all my literary adventures.

Successio is the third book in the series and I still stand by the ‘read the series in order’ theory. I’ve seen some people say that these books read easily as stand alone novels but I completely disagree.

The world of Roma Nova is complex and the back story is very detailed so I would say if this novel looks at all eye catching to you, then start with the first book and fully immerse yourself in the rich world of Roma Nova and Morton’s stunning characters.

In this third book, we catch up with Carina Mitela, the heir of a leading family in Roma Nova. While things in the empire are more or less at peace, things in Carina’s world are far from that.

Continue reading “Review: Successio (Roma Nova #3) by Alison Morton”