Review: Pines (Wayward Pines #1) by Blake Crouch

Not many network TV shows catch my eye, I’m typically an HBO girl when it comes to ‘my shows’ but something about Wayward Pines on Fox caught my eye and after the first episode I was hooked.

What kind of weirdness is this?

It wasn’t until the third episode that I noticed it was based on a book series, so like a good bookaholic I raced out and bought the first book to start reading immediately!

Secret Service agent, Ethan Burke, was sent to Wayward Pines to find two missing agents but Ethan and his partner were hit by a truck.

When Ethan wakes up in Wayward Pines hospital it’s pretty clear that something is a off. The town just doesn’t seem right.

He has no ID, no money, and no badge. He keeps trying to call his family and his office but no one will return his calls. Everyone in Wayward Pines seems nice enough but, there is something off…..hell even the beer tastes funny.

Continue reading “Review: Pines (Wayward Pines #1) by Blake Crouch”

Cover Reveal: UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN by Renee Collins

For fans of Susanna Kearsley comes a time-slip romance where love, murder, and mystery make for a swoon-worthy read.

UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN is The Time Traveler’s Wife for teens, and meets 1920s glamour that’s perfect for fans of The Great Gatsby and Bright Young Things .

UNTIL WE MEET AGAIN Summary

They exist in two different centuries, but their love defies time.

Cassandra is a headstrong teenager craving drama and adventure, so the last thing she wants is to spend her summer marooned with her mother and new stepfather in a snooty Massachusetts shore town. But when a dreamy stranger named Lawrence shows up on their private beach claiming it’s his own—and that the year is 1925—she is swept into a mystery a hundred years in the making.

As she searches for answers in the present, Cassandra discovers a truth that puts their growing love—and Lawrence’s life—in jeopardy. Desperate to save him, Cassandra must find a way to change history—or risk losing Lawrence forever.

Biography

Renee Collins grew up on a beach in Hawaii. Sadly, she never met anyone from the past on those shores, but she did go on to get a degree in History, which is almost the same.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23277959-until-we-meet-again

Social Networking Links:

Website: http://reneecollinsauthor.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/reneecollins_

Review: Successio (Roma Nova #3) by Alison Morton

As many of you are aware, I have been very impressed with this new series. This is the first and really, the only, alternative history book that I’ve come across in all my literary adventures.

Successio is the third book in the series and I still stand by the ‘read the series in order’ theory. I’ve seen some people say that these books read easily as stand alone novels but I completely disagree.

The world of Roma Nova is complex and the back story is very detailed so I would say if this novel looks at all eye catching to you, then start with the first book and fully immerse yourself in the rich world of Roma Nova and Morton’s stunning characters.

In this third book, we catch up with Carina Mitela, the heir of a leading family in Roma Nova. While things in the empire are more or less at peace, things in Carina’s world are far from that.

Continue reading “Review: Successio (Roma Nova #3) by Alison Morton”

Spotlight: AURELIA (Roma Nova #4) by Alison Morton

02_Aurelia_CoverPublication Date: May 5, 2015
SilverWood Books
Series: Roma Nova, Book Four
Genre: Alternative Historical Fiction
Add to GR Button
Late 1960s Roma Nova, the last Roman colony that has survived into the 21st century. Aurelia Mitela is alone – her partner gone, her child sickly and her mother dead. Forced in her mid-twenties to give up her beloved career as a Praetorian officer, she is struggling to manage an extended family tribe, businesses and senatorial political life.

But her country needs her unique skills. Somebody is smuggling silver – Roma Nova’s lifeblood – on an industrial scale. Sent to Berlin to investigate, she encounters the mysterious and attractive Miklós, a suspected smuggler, and Caius Tellus, a Roma Novan she has despised, and feared, since childhood.

Aurelia suspects that the silver smuggling hides a deeper conspiracy and follows a lead into the Berlin criminal underworld. Barely escaping a trap set by a gang boss intent on terminating her, she realises that her old enemy is at the heart of all her troubles and pursues him back home to Roma Nova…

Continue reading “Spotlight: AURELIA (Roma Nova #4) by Alison Morton”

Review: Changing Nature (The Immortal Descendants #3) by April White

The Immortal Descendants has been one of my most favorite new series over the last year or so. I absolutely love the world that the author has created.

Each book moves the story forward and the world and the premise of the story, characters, and plot are all unique but yet work so well together.

In this third book, we find ‘Clocker’ Saira and Archer enjoying a summer of romance when suddenly Immortals start being kidnapped.

The ‘Mongers’ will do anything to gain power and control over the other descendant families, especially after they target a powerful shifter.

Saira and Archers (along with the rest of her crew) must travel back in time again to track down their nemesis, Bishop Wilder. This time they find themselves in Paris…..1429.

At that time, Paris is anything but the city of love that it is today. The city is besieged by marauding wolves led by a fanatical peasant girl who will be known in history as Joan of Arc.

Continue reading “Review: Changing Nature (The Immortal Descendants #3) by April White”